Peach & Cilantro Salsa

recipe from Canning for a New Generation, pg 112

Ingredients
– 5 lbs peaches ($1/lb @ Venice FM)
– ½ cup lime juice
– 6 oz sweet onion
– 3 oz red bell pepper
– 2 tbsp minced serrano chile (I used jalepeno instead)
– 4 tbsp sugar
– 4 tsp kosher salt
– ¼ cup cider vinegar
– 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
– ½ cup fresh cilantro
– 2 tbsp fresh mint

Learnings
WHAT A DEAL. Are slightly bruised seconds really the way to go? I’m not sure why these peaches were so cheap (usually they’re $2.50-$3/lb) but they were delicious and barely ripe. I will not be afraid.

FLAVORS. This flavor combo just didn’t hit it for me, but I’ve never really been a fan of any salsa other than the red tomato variety.

PEACHES ON MY MIND. I’ve been trying to find the perfect way to preserve my favorite stone fruit that isn’t a jam, chutney, too sweet, or only tall pint/quart jar worthy (those size jars don’t fit well into my canning pot). Maybe Peach Chocolate Dessert Sauce, Peaches in Sweet Tea Syrup, Boozy Rum Peaches, or a Peach BBQ Sauce.

Usings
I’m sure these will be married with many bags of Trader Joe’s Black Tortilla Chips.

Leave a Reply

